Ministerial TaaS Panel announcement: Over $20m saved on AoG Telecommunications contract

| In Press Releases |
Generic News

Economic Development Minister Steven Joyce and Internal Affairs Minister Peter Dunne have announced a list of twelve telecommunications providers who have been selected to provide telecommunications and managed security services to Government. 

Government agencies will be able to easily select the suppliers and services they want based on their business needs. The All of Government contract will save taxpayers at least $20-$30 million within the first two years.

“Agencies will be able to purchase these services on demand easily, with no minimum terms or volumes. This means they can focus on creating services that their customers want, rather than having to worry about owning, operating and maintaining large amounts of telecommunications equipment and running costly procurement processes. This approach will drive cost-savings across government,” says Mr Joyce.

The list offers a choice of providers and services to best meet agencies’ business requirements now, and the flexibility to change to take advantage of service innovations.

“These services will be delivered through a standardised technology approach, supplied and managed by several providers. That will remove technical barriers and allow for greater collaboration between agencies. This will make it simpler to integrate customer services across agencies, and easier for people to interact with government,” says Mr Dunne. 

The adoption of this model reflects the way Government now wants to purchase and use ICT services.

The list of providers is open to allow services and membership to evolve as technology, delivery models and requirements change. This will allow services and the providers to remain innovative, relevant and competitive. They are:

  • Agile Integration Limited
  • Aura Redshield Security Limited
  • CityLink Limited
  • Cogito Group Pty Limited
  • Datacom Systems Wellington Limited
  • Dimension Data New Zealand Limited
  • Fujitsu New Zealand Limited
  • Mobile Mentor NZ Limited
  • SMX Limited
  • Spark New Zealand Trading Limited
  • Two Degrees New Zealand Limited
  • Vodafone New Zealand Limited

Development of the list of providers has been jointly managed by the Department of Internal Affairs and the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment with significant involvement of eight other agencies, including:

  • Department of Conservation
  • Inland Revenue
  • Ministry of Primary Industries
  • Ministry of Social Development
  • New Zealand Police (also representing the emergency services sector)
  • New Zealand Trade and Enterprise
  • New Zealand Defence Force
  • Statistics New Zealand

These agencies are committed to taking up this range of services as soon as possible, along with many other agencies.

“This is a great example of agencies working together to achieve outcomes in line with the goals of the Government ICT Strategy and Action Plan, part of the government’s drive to achieve better public services,” Mr Joyce says.